Editor's Pick of The Week - May 11, 2018

While you were busy deciphering the latest Donald Glover video, this is all the good music you missed. Listen Now to our Editor’s Pick of the Week.

This week we received a bunch of great earworms, including two charismatic singles from the long-lost, visceral group, Jungle, a delicately-produced EP, Xeno, from Santino Le Saint, and a utopian single from the oh-so-sad Lykke Li. We also heard a blissful album that calls you home on a summer evening – Earthly Days by William Prince, and Phairo’s lovely new electronic EP.

 We also got to listen to the rejuvenating sixth album from Arctic Monkeys, a Diplo-tastic single from the newly-formed supergroup LSD (Labrinth, Sia and Diplo), a full-length album from Marian Hill. Additionally worth mentioning: a long-awaited and awkwardly danceable single from Orbital, and a lovely album about the longing and delinquency of youth by Ssion. Lastly, we’d be amiss if we didn’t send a huge shout out to 20-year-old singer and rapper Biig Piig for the most terrific R&B album of this year, at least for now.

Jungle – House In LA


From time to time, we receive a song which is both forward-thinking and well-chosen. “House in LA” is one such aural treat, featuring spaced out video shots that show the posher bits of Los Angeles. Echoing the mystically glittering sound of the surreal group, Jungle, this song made us wonder, ‘What is going to be the best track of 2018?’

Eliza – Alone & Unafraid


Another beautiful amalgamation of Electronic and R&B, London-based Eliza does a superb job of bringing the groove and emotions together. This is filled with moveable LFO developments and furious lyrics such as: “And I’m not in this life to be a wife / I make my own little religion” before ending with a happy guitar tone.

Santino Le Saint – Xeno

Santino Le Saint.jpg

Brixton musician Santino’s self-produced three track project “XENO” is the artist’s second EP, leading up to his debut album. An ecstatic piece of work showcases the brilliant production and composition talent that is Santino Le Saint. The noir look of his artwork takes you by surprise with an intensely sensuous “Magic.”

Lykke Li – utopia


Lykke Li’s third single from the upcoming album, So Sad So Sexy, is a ballad of sadistic yet beautiful emotions. Celebrating her late mother and her own journey into motherhood, the Swede released the melancholic sound on Mother’s Day for her fans.

Arctic Monkeys – Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino


The anticipation was very high around the new Arctic Monkeys’ album and the subsequent image change for lead vocalist Alex Turner. This album tells (almost ironically) the modern day tale of a band deviating from a definitive commercial path towards a more experimental approach. We were very excited from the artwork and thoroughly enjoyed the album, but like many other pieces being made in these times, it was rather hard to pin the album into one sphere.

John Adams, BBC Symphony Orchestra – Doctor Atomic, Act I, Scene 3: “Batter my heart”

John Adams.jpg

Nonesuch Records released the first recording of John Adams’ 2005 opera, Doctor Atomic this week. It’s a stigmatic story of our world coming to the ultimate destruction of all time, right in front of us. The reviews were spectacular — “a magnificent accomplishment,” according to the Los Angeles Times, while the Guardian called it Adams’ “most visionary and ambitious stage work to date.”

Here’s the full tracklist for this week’s playlist

1. “God Break Down the Door” by Nine Inch Nails

2. “Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino” by Arctic Monkeys

3. “House In LA” by Jungle 

4. “Alone & Unafraid” by Eliza 

5. “Magic” by Santino Le Saint 

6. “utopia” by Lykke Li 

7. “Earthly Days” by William Prince

8. “Celadon” by Phairo

9. “Fuckin ‘N’ Rollin” by Phantastic Ferniture

10. “Audio” by Lsd featuring Sia, Labrinth, Diplo, and Labrinth

11. “All Night Long” by Marian Hill 

12. “Constellate” by Fleurie

13. “Tiny Foldable Cities” by Orbital 

14. “Doctor Atomic, Act I, Scene 3: “Batter my heart”” by John Adams, BBC Symphony Orchestra

15. “Big As I Can Dream” by Ssion 

16. “Lay Low” by Dominic Breen

17. “Cascade” by Joseph Ashworth featuring Run Rivers

18. “Dinners Gettin’ Cold” by Biig Piig

19. “Tell Mama (Killing Eve)” by Unloved featuring Unloved 

20. “Heartbeat” by Alice Boman 

21. “Colors” by Charlz 

22. “You Keep Me Coming Back for More” by Artificial Pleasure 

23. “Sunday Roast” by Courtney Barnett

24. “Young Melody” by Pnau featuring Vera Blue

25. “No It’s All Over” by ST.MARTiiNS

26. “Anything Goes” by Nvdes

27. “I’m in Love” by Junglepussy

28. “Murmuration” by Simian Mobile Disco 

29. “Pioneers” (Yunis Remix) by Alina Amuri 

30. “Currency” by Ivy Adara 

31. “Horizon” (Poolside Remix) by Tycho 

32. “Problems” by Weathers 

33. “Good Thing” (Kideko Club Edit) by Kideko

34. “Airplane Tekno” by Spencer Brown featuring Roderick Demmings Jr. 

35. “What If This Is All The Love You Ever Get?” by Snow Patrol 

Tags : #Arctic Monkeys #Diplo #Eliza #Enrique Iglesias #John Adams #Jungle #Playlists #Santino Le Saint